Ph.D. and M.S. assistantships in Ecosystem Science

Employer
Center for Ecosystem Science and Society, Northern Arizona University
Location
Flagstaff, Arizona
Salary
Stipend (up to $23,000 or more), tuition waiver, health insurance + payment of other fees
Closing date
Dec 1, 2022

View more

Discipline
Biogeosciences, Global Environmental Change, Interdisciplinary/Other
Career Level
Student / Graduate
Education Level
Bachelors
Job Type
Internship
Relocation Cost
No Relocation
Sector Type
Academia
You need to sign in or create an account to save a job.

CALL FOR APPLICATIONS:

 

PhD and MS positions in Ecosystem Ecology are available in the Center for Ecosystem Science and Society (Ecoss) at Northern Arizona University.

 

The Ecoss mission is to conduct high-impact, innovative research on ecosystems and how they respond to and shape environmental change to train next-gen scientists and to communicate discovery and its relevance to people.

 

Graduate student benefits include stipend (TA or RA), tuition waiver, health insurance, and payment of other student fees.

 

Candidates should explore the Ecoss website (ecoss.nau.edu) and contact a faculty member (prospective advisor) whose interests align most closely with those of the applicant.

 

Program applications should be submitted to the home department recommended by the prospective advisor (Biology, School of Informatics and Computer Sciences, or School of Forestry). Although hard deadlines vary in different home departments, Ecoss requires that applications be submitted by January 15, 2023. Applications submitted earlier (by December 2, 2022) may be considered for a prestigious NAU Presidential Fellowship. Please include a cover letter describing your background, research interests, and qualifications, as well as a current resumé or curriculum vitae.

 

Ecoss is committed to fostering a diverse and inclusive workplace (ecoss.nau.edu/inclusion/). We strongly encourage applications from women and members of underrepresented minority groups. 

 

RESEARCH OPPORTUNITIES:

 

The impact of climate change on Alaskan ecosystems, including effects of changing fire and permafrost on plants, soils, and ecosystem services. Michelle Mack, Ted Schuur, & Xanthe Walker (michelle.mack@nau.edu, ted.schuur@nau.edu, xanthe.walker@nau.edu)

 

How microorganisms regulate biogeochemical responses of ecosystems to environmental change, using tools in quantitative ecology and molecular biology (next-gen sequencing, qPCR, and quantitative stable isotope probing). Bruce Hungate, Paul Dijkstra, Ben Koch, & Egbert Schwartz (bruce.hungate@nau.edu, paul.dijkstra@nau.edu, ben.koch@nau.edu, egbert.schwartz@nau.edu)

 

Freshwater ecology, including the science of river restoration and dam removal, terrestrial aquatic interactions and food web ecology. Jane Marks & Ben Koch (jane.marks@nau.edu, ben.koch@nau.edu)

 

Plant and microbial ecophysiology exploring the interaction of water and carbon metabolism in diverse systems, from the world's tallest trees to soil microorganisms. George Koch (george.koch@nau.edu)

 

Terrestrial ecosystems and global change: above and below ground processes, plant carbon allocation, biosphere-atmosphere interactions and feedbacks, radiocarbon, and phenology. Mariah Carbone & Andrew Richardson (mariah.carbone@nau.edu, andrew.richardson@nau.edu)

 

Dryland ecology, function and responses to global change; community ecology of biocrusts; plant-soil interactions; “from the ground up” soil-focused ecological restoration. Matthew Bowker (matthew.bowker@nau.edu)

 

Microbial trophic interactions and functions in soil and insect-microbe associations integrating traditional and molecular microbiology tools, multi-omics approaches, and bioinformatics. Javier Ceja-Navarro (javier.ceja-navarro@nau.edu)

 

Apply for Ph.D. and M.S. assistantships in Ecosystem Science

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required

Your file must be a .doc, .pdf, .docx, or .rtf. No larger than 1MB
Selected file:

Secondary Document

Your file must be a .doc, .pdf, .docx, or .rtf. No larger than 1MB
Selected file:
Your communication preferences

When you apply for a job we will send your application to the named employer, who may contact you. By applying for a job listed on AGU Career Center you agree to our terms and conditions and privacy policy. You should never be required to provide bank account details. If you are, please contact us. All emails will contain a link in the footer to enable you to unsubscribe at any time.

You need to sign in or create an account to save a job.

Get job alerts

Create a job alert and receive personalized job recommendations straight to your inbox.

Create alert